50 MEPNs inducted into nursing honor society


(Dr Jackie Close and Olga Samokvalova)

Founder’s Chapel was the site for the Sigma Theta Tau International (STTI) induction of new members. The ceremony took place on Saturday, April 16th. A record, fifty MEPN students were inducted into this international honor society of nursing scholars.  Students must have earned a cumulative GPA of 3.5 or higher to be considered for membership.

The Zeta Mu chapter consists of students and alumni from USD as well as from Point Loma Nazarene. The chapter is committed to the following purposes:

  • To recognize superior achievement in nursing
  • To encourage creative work
  • To foster high professional standards
  • To strengthen the commitment to the ideals of the profession

Dr. Jackie Close, faculty advisor for the chapter stated, “It was such a beautiful ceremony and I was honored to welcome these high achieving MEPN students into STTI.”

Kudos to the following students

Tommaso Bardaro, Mary Rose Berberian, Katrina Bess, Carey Blew, Amy Bowers, Ryan Dean Brown, Mariah Butera, Valerie Bykoff, Todd Chamoy, Breanna Champion-Ybarra, Tina Chung, Chelsea Cornwell, Bessie Coronado-Vigil, Kylie Crivello, Lisa Cronk, Taylor Deits, Annette Diaz-Santana, LaDawn Dixon, Heather Ebert, Julia Elliot, Griselda Escobedo, Nicole Galicia, Zoe Garrett, Jonathan Goldstone, Elisangela Mantoanelli Heim, Brooke Hollyfield, Patrick Humphries, Anya Ilfeld, Heather Knapp, Kaylyn LaValle, Helen Luk, Kaitlyn MacNeil, Kathleen Martin, Francesca Murillo, Hezekiah O’Neal, Diana Pineda, Arianna Reisman, Daniel Roderick, Manreet Sahota, Olga Samokhvalova, Amy Scheffler, Corey Sinclair, Britney Taganas, Hannah Tappe, Fiyore Tesfai, Laura Traeger, Diane Ward, Marissa Williams, Megan Yap, Erin Zilka


( just a few of the 2016 inductees)


(Katie MacNeil and Katrina Bess proudly display their STTI certificates)

About kathymarsh

Associate Dean at Hahn School of Nursing University of San Diego
This entry was posted in University of San Diego. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to 50 MEPNs inducted into nursing honor society

  1. Semira says:

    Congrats to all of you!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s